Pivots

Everyone has pivotal points in their life; moments that are used as benchmarks when looking back.  Those events become defining points in peoples’ memories. Everything in history was either before or after these kinds of events. People say things like, “That was before I was married” or “I know it was after I graduated from college.” I, personally, have had many such events that mark when I changed as a person, when I could no longer be who I was before because now, in the after, I am made of different stuff. Before, I had never had a graduate degree, or owned a house, or realized some profound thing about myself that I cannot go back and “un-realize”. Heck, even turning 21 marks a pivotal moment when the world of entertainment no longer holds age-based restrictions on you. Doors that have always been closed are suddenly open to you at just one stroke of midnight. So many times, when we pivot on the map of our lives, we turn towards something better and brighter. Life-changing moments can be exciting and wondrous.  Unfortunately, that’s not always the case.

I am starting this blog because I need an outlet. An outlet for, well, everything, I guess. My mom, my best friend, the person I’m closest to in this world, died on March 16, 2016. We talked every day, sometimes multiple times a day. There is no way to really understand what it is like to lose someone this close to you until it actually happens. There is no way to prepare for the rest of your life. How do you keep going when someone who was such a huge part of your life is no longer there? I don’t know the answer, but this blog is here to help me do it.

I do not plan on making this a sad and sappy blog, though I can promise there will likely be some posts like that. This blog is for me. I’m going to post what I want to post and no one is obligated to read it just like I’m not obligated to keep up with it.

That being said, I envision this being one of the most random blogs ever.

Leave a Reply

